Closing or minimizing Roam

Roam is designed to reflect an accurate, real-time view of your office, including who is present and available. To avoid showing stale or out-of-date information on the map, Roam does not show you as present when you are not actively available.

Minimizing Roam keeps you in your office, but closing the main Roam window exits your office, even if the app keeps running in the background.

Closing the Main Roam Window

Closing the main window exits your office so you are no longer visible to others on the map.

The Roam app can continue running in the background from the Dock or Menu Bar on macOS, or the System Tray on Windows if Keep in System Tray is enabled, however, this does not keep you in your office.

Minimizing Roam

Minimize the main Roam window when you want Roam to keep running while you work in other apps. You should stay in your office unless your computer becomes idle, locks, sleeps, or disconnects.

Inactivity, Lock Screen, and Sleep

On the Roam Desktop App, you’ll be timed out when your computer goes to sleep or after 30 minutes of inactivity—whichever comes first. This applies to overall computer use, not just Roam activity; as long as you’re using your computer, Roam will remain active.

Using Roam on the Web

Roam is available on the web for guests, members will have the best experience using the desktop app.

Closing the Roam browser tab or window, or navigating away from Roam, leaves the office. Minimizing your browser does not intentionally close Roam, but browsers may throttle background tabs and disconnect or time out differently. Roam on the web will also time you out if you don’t interact with the Roam browser tab for an extended period of time.

If You Are Leaving Temporarily

To let teammates know when you will be back, use Will Return Today or Out of Roam instead of closing the window.